June Stitch Fix Review

I’ve been really busy lately, so the email reminder that this month’s fix was about to be styled took me by surprise.

Jun01

I jotted a quick note to Jessica that I wasn’t looking for anything specific (having abandoned my quest for black pants last month), but would love to see some sundresses. I also mentioned that I have several weddings in the next few months, and would be interested in seeing something a little more formal if she found something that would work for me.

In her note, she made mention of my Pinterest board and touted that several of the pieces could be dressed up for the office.

Here’s what I got.

THML Abriana Colorblock Embroidered Dress

Navy, $68.00

Jun03

Pros: I really loved the embroidery on the front of the dress, and the twin cutouts on the front and the back.

Cons: Shifts look really good on a lot of people — effortless, chic, and cool — but I am not one of those people. I’m one of the people who puts on a shift and transforms it into a sad lamp shade. The orange color of the bottom of the dress was also pretty awful with my skin tone.

Jun08

Verdict: Returned. I’ll have to reiterate my standing ban on the shift silhouette.

 

Karen Kane Lisa Printed Pencil Skirt

Navy, $88.00

Jun06

Pros: This skirt is awesome. It reminds me of the one I almost kept from my April fix, but it’s less frumpy and the pattern covers the entire skirt instead of just the front. I love the pattern, which is similar to several things I’ve pinned recently, and the length is great to fit into my work wardrobe. I also tend to gravitate to skater skirts, so a pencil skirt is a nice change of pace.

Cons: It’s a touch big in the hips, and the lining is partially detached, so that’s a little annoying.

Jun09

Verdict: Keeping it. Did I mention this skirt is awesome? Yes? That’s because it’s awesome.

 

Collective Concepts Janae Dress

Navy, $78.00

Jun04

Pros: I had pinned this a few weeks back, and really liked the idea of this dress. It seems like a great piece for summer that could be dressed up for the office or down for going out. Plus it has pockets!

Cons: Despite liking the idea of the dress, the reality is it was a hot mess on me. It’s huge up top, making the neckline a baggy and inappropriate plunge. The gathered waist hits me at a weird spot, and gives the entire middle a bulky appearance. The straps are also incredibly thin, which seems like a wardrobe malfunction waiting to happen.

Jun10

Verdict: Returned. Bummer.

 

See U Soon Kesse Cross Back Top

Light Blue, $58.00

Jun02

Pros: This isn’t really a pro, but apparently I pinned this? I have no recollection of doing so, or any idea why I would think this monstrosity would be a good addition to my style board, but it is in fact there. Mocking me. Points to Jessica for actually paying attention to my board.

Jun12

Cons: This shirt is a perfect storm. It’s pastel, and floaty, and gauzy, and shapeless, and has super weird accents at the top, and the straps are flimsy, and it’s too big, and it’s just terrible. Guys, this shirt is terrible. Plus, there’s the bra situation. I have a sneaking suspicion that it was designed with the intention that it be worn with no bra, which would be fine were it not for the incredibly sheer nature of the fabric.

lol no

lol no

Verdict: Returned. Seriously, why did I pin this?

 

London Times Darlena Lace Dress

Cobalt, $88.00

Jun05

Pros: This dress was Jessica’s answer to my wedding mention, and she nailed it. I don’t typically go for jewel tones, but it works well with my coloring, and it’s different from anything else I have. The fit is great, and it has a vintage vibe, which I really dig. Also, it’s pretty. Guys, it’s like really pretty.

Cons: Lace is kind of a misnomer, since it’s really more a crochet, but honestly? I don’t even care, this dress is perfect.

Jun11

Verdict: Like you even have to ask.

 

Overall, the bad pieces were really bad, but the good pieces were amazing. As far as the bad pieces go, Jessica really only had one miss — granted, an orange shift dress is one hell of a miss, but for the other two she was just trying to do right by my Pinterest board and I can’t fault her for that.

Clearly I need to cut back on my post-happy hour Pinterest usage.

Even with my misguided pins, she still managed to find me two pieces that I’m actually quite excited to wear. Thank you, Jessica, for dealing with finding me clothes.

If you’re interested in Stitch Fix, check it out! It’s free to sign up, and filling out the style profile is actually really helpful for thinking about what you do and don’t love for your wardrobe.

(Plus, between friends, if you sign up with my referral link, I earn credit with the site when your first fix ships. Win-win, right?)

2 responses to “June Stitch Fix Review

  1. Pingback: July Stitch Fix Review | Laptop Ginger

  2. Pingback: September Stitch Fix Review | Laptop Ginger

Leave a Reply

