January Stitch Fix Review

I hate shopping and I need new clothes, so I signed up for Stitch Fix.

For those of you who have never heard of it, Stitch Fix is an online subscription personal shopping service. Basically, you fill out a style profile, and a personal stylist sends you a package with clothes, shoes, jewelry, and accessories once a month (or however often you schedule to get a “fix” delivered). You’re charged a $20 stylist fee when the fix is put together, which is applied to your purchase if you decide to keep any of the items. If you keep everything, you get a 25% discount. Anything you don’t want can be returned in the prepaid envelope they provide, along with comment cards detailing what you did or didn’t like about the different pieces, which helps the stylists for future fixes.

I wasn’t really sure what to expect. My mom has had a lot of trouble getting clothes that she likes in her fixes, and all of the reviews I’ve read say you need to be really specific about what you like/what you want. Knowing this, I made sure to describe my general style preferences as best as I could, plus linked a Pinterest board that reflected my fashion inclinations.

In the special instructions for my fix, I relayed that I’m incredibly pale and try to avoid colors that wash me out, as well as the fact that it’s January in Minnesota so I’d love to see some sweaters.

Then my fix arrived – three days earlier than scheduled, which was awesome – and I excitedly opened the package to see what was waiting for me. Standard of all fixes, there were five items and style cards with suggestions on how to style each piece, as well as a note from my stylist, Ines.

For a first fix, she did a pretty good job.

Liverpool Anita Skinny Pant

Black, $78.00

Jan01

Pros: I actually need a new pair of black skinny pants, and was planning on requesting some in my next fix. These fit really nicely, despite looking tiny, and they have the potential to be very versatile and get a lot of use.

Jan02

Cons: They’re more jeggings than actual pants, and are too tight to really be appropriate to wear to work, which makes the $78 price tag hard to justify. Additionally, the front pockets are fake, which I take great offense to on principle. Seriously, why with the fake pockets? Why would you do that, Anita?!

Jan03

Verdict: Sent back, with a more specific request for what I’m looking for in a pair of black skinny pants, and instructions to never send me anything with fake pockets ever again.

 

Pixley Greenich Striped Knit Top

Burgundy, $48.00

Jan04

Pros: There was so much that could have gone wrong with this shirt. Horizontal stripes can be unflattering. As a ginger, I tend to stay away from reds in my clothing. I have freakishly long arms and can almost never find sleeves that are long enough for me. I also have a long torso so t-shirts tend to ride up on my midriff.

However, there is nothing wrong with this shirt. I love it.

I really like the pattern, and the red is deep enough (it’s described as “burgundy”) that it doesn’t clash, and it’s something different for my wardrobe. The fit is fantastic, actually long enough in all the right places, plus the jersey material isn’t the cheap or flimsy stuff I’m used to from Target or Old Navy. The faux leather trim is a fun feature, and I adore the elbow pads.

Jan05

Cons: It’s white so I’ll probably spill something all over it, and it’s cotton so I’ll probably accidentally shrink it, but those are both on me.

Jan06

Verdict: Keeping it. I’m actually wearing it right now with skinny jeans and a black blazer as I type up this review.

 

Skies are Blue Brilla Open Cardigan

Black, $58.00

Jan07

Pros: I asked for sweaters. The color of this is a nice salt-and-pepper gray that could be worn with almost anything else. The length of the sleeves are good, and I like the general silhouette. Plus, it has pockets (take note, Anita).

Jan08

Cons: I asked for sweaters because it’s January in Minnesota. As I write this, it is twelve degrees below zero with a wind chill of -45. This sweater is beautiful, but it’s not particularly functional. I need sweaters that will actually be warm, not sweaters that have an open weave to show off the clothes underneath. It will be great for spring and fall, and even summer in my intensely air-conditioned office, but it really doesn’t cut it for the winter.

Jan09

Verdict: Keeping it because I know I’ll get a lot of use out of it, but I’m also sending more explicit instructions of what I need to survive the winter.

 

Market & Spruce Annabeth Faux Leather Trim Sweater Tunic

Dark Green, $68.00

Jan10

Pros: I asked for sweaters. I really like the emerald color of the sweater, the keyhole feature was interesting, and the faux leather trim is right up my alley.

Jan11

Cons: Hate is a strong word, but this came close. Again, I asked for sweaters because it’s January in Minnesota. This one didn’t have an open weave like the cardigan, but when I took it out of the box and held it up, I could see right through the fabric. Tip for success, if the fabric is thin enough to be transparent, it isn’t thick enough to be called a sweater.

I don’t really like boat necklines, and the trim on this one made it stiff and uncomfortable. Additionally, while I’m a huge fan of the oversized-sweater-with-leggings-look, the silhouette on this piece was horrendous. It was too long, far too baggy, had absolutely no shape, and the sleeves were too short.

Jan12

Verdict: Sent back with notes to avoid sheer shapeless sacks in the future.

 

Romolo Genevieve Stacked Chevron Pendant Necklace

Gold, $28.00

Jan13

Pros: It’s an interesting statement piece that wouldn’t be annoying to wear, like I imagine those chandelier/bauble statement necklaces are.

Cons: I’m not really sure if it’s my style. I’m kind of weird about jewelry, and I’m not always sure what I would like/consistently wear, so it’s hard for me to make a $28 commitment to a necklace that may never see the light of day. Also, I was wearing it around the house while I was taking pictures for this, and that sucker is heavy.

Jan14

Verdict: Sent back.

 

All in all, not terrible for a first fix. I feel like Ines has a pretty good handle on my style and color palette, it was just the little details that were off. The sweaters were probably the most disappointing part of the fix simply because neither of them are functional for Minnesota winters, but when the stylists are located in California, I can see where there might be some disconnect.

Feedback can only help, so I’m looking forward to February.

If you’re interested in Stitch Fix, check it out! It’s free to sign up, and filling out the style profile is actually really helpful for thinking about what you do and don’t love for your wardrobe.

(Plus, between friends, if you sign up with my referral link, I earn credit with the site. Win-win, right?)

2 responses to “January Stitch Fix Review

  1. The fixes do seem to get better over time, so hang in there! Heavy sweaters are definitely not their thing.

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. Pingback: March Stitch Fix Review | Laptop Ginger

Leave a Reply

