Reader Mail: Keystone Pipeline

“Hi. I’ve read a few of your posts; you mention your like of discussing current events. I have yet to see a post on a non-feminst current events. I appreciate your logic against Internet feminist trolls, but trolls are not smart, which is why voldemort likes them. What are your opinions on the keystone pipeline?”

nothanks@yahoo.com

Hi! Thanks for taking time to read and write.

You are correct, I do enjoy discussing current events. That doesn’t necessarily mean I’ll always post about current events, however. I’ve been posting a lot on feminism lately because I think it’s an important topic that’s often misrepresented; that’s not to say any other topic is less important, but I find I write better when it’s something I’m passionate about, and it’s a lot easier to get whipped up about some asshat taking a testosterone-laced dump on my gender than it is about Chris Christie getting re-elected.

“Aha!” I imagine you may be thinking, “That’s just what the trolls want!”

Well, yes and no. If something pisses me off there is a far greater chance I’ll write about it, but I do it here after I have time to breathe, and think clearly, and make sound logical arguments and grammatically correct sentences. Why I bother responding at all is as simple as I occasionally have a bit of free time and a lot of ideas floating around in my head. As for the trolls, there’s a reason I stay far, far away from the comments and message boards of the original posts I typically write about, and though I’m not completely sure, I don’t think Voldemort ever aligned with trolls. Giants, sure. I guess Quirrell had a thing for trolls while Voldemort was chilling under his turban. Maybe I’m forgetting a plot point.

I digress.

The Keystone Pipeline! Good choice, interesting topic. As with anything worth debating, there are good arguments on both sides. Personally, I think the thousands of jobs that would be produced, along with helping wean our dependency on Middle Eastern oil are excellent solutions to many problems in the short term. Long term, the environmental effects may not be as stellar. I can’t say for sure because I’m neither an environmental expert, nor from the future. It would be wonderful if there could be some magical compromise that allowed us to reap the benefits without creating any type of ecological disturbance, but life doesn’t work that way. Furthermore, if everything had a fix-all that made everyone happy, what would Congress argue about?

As it stands, you managed to pick one of the few topics that I don’t hold a strong opinion on one way or the other. It’s not because I don’t care or think it’s not important, it’s because I legitimately agree with pros and cons on both sides of the issue. There are going to be negative impacts regardless of what happens, just as there will be measurable benefits. I’m not even kind of qualified to contribute further on an environmental, scientific, economic, or mechanical level, so that’s all I’ve got.

Though I can definitively say that everyone arguing the Keystone Pipeline will diminish our dependency on the oil of foreign countries clearly doesn’t understand what Canada is.

Leave a Reply

