2011: Year of the Blog

2011 is finally over, and I’ve got to say I’m exhausted. It’s been a crazy busy year.

2011 was the year of study abroad! Living in Ireland for five months and running into all sorts of shenanigans (possible Irish pun intended). 2011 was the year of new experiences and cultures!

Culture!

2011 was the year I traveled to eleven different countries and took thousands of pictures of architecture and historic sites and breathtaking landscapes…and a quite a few shenanigans (domestic as well as international).

2011 was the year of the 5K. I finally joined the ranks of the nut jobs I’m related to who run farther than most people would drive in a month, and I’m actually having fun. Stay tuned for 2012, year of the 10K.

2011 was the year I was introduced to corporate America, in a manner of speaking. Interning at a Fortune 500 company put me in a cubicle for a 40 hour work week (an adjustment from nannying), but something tells me that Katy Perry concerts and team scavenger hunts won’t be a staple in my adult work life.

Nor booze cruises.

2011 was the year of family. With my parents spending 10 days with me in Ireland, my brother living at home after he came home from Kenya, my grandma spending a few weeks with us before and after her trip to Africa, and me visiting my aunts and cousins near Chicago, it was also the year of fractured family vacations.

2011 was the year of the upgraded cabin. New siding, new deck, same people and beer. OK, it’s not much of an upgrade, but does a cabin really need to be upgraded?

I don't think so.

2011 was the year of the Miracle Mile, a senior homecoming tradition where we start drinking at 7:00am. The cultural significance behind this is that it’s homecoming, and we start drinking at 7:00am.

2011 was the beginning of my senior year, my induction to Neighbor Nights, and an amazing time with great friends.

2011 was the year when reality started to set in, and I discovered I might actually be turning into an adult. And that I’m OK with that. I learned so much from so many different sources this year, and I can’t say I’ve regretted a single second of it.

2011 was the year I kept all of you up to date with whatever it is I do with my life on a day-to-day basis. 2011 is the year I started blogging, but more importantly, 2011 is the year you started reading.

Happy 2012, everybody.

Leave a Reply

