Return!

Ladies and Gentlemen,

It’s been a month since I’ve been back home in the states. I miss Ireland. I miss my friends and roommates, I miss being a short train ride from an amazing city that I knew inside and out, I miss €2 coins, and good Guinness, and stable weather (seriously, last Tuesday it was 103°F in St. Paul, and by Friday it was 55°F). I also really miss blogging.

I can do something about one of those things (within reason. The weather-beam is still in early production), which does in fact mean what you think it means.

It's a big deal.

“But wait!” I imagine you must be thinking, “You’re back home! You have nothing interesting to write about anymore!” Indeed, you have a point. I’m not in Ireland, so how can I continue an Ireland-based blog? The truth is, I’m now one of those people who has a blog for the sake of having a blog. “How retro!” you exclaim, “How quaintly 2004 of you! Does this mean you’ll continue to bombard us with the mundane details of your everyday life which have become more mundane as a direct result of living in Eagan instead of Sandymount?” Of course.

"My life is complete!"

With a few adjustments, that is. I’m not going to be posting everyday because I don’t have the time, and my life really isn’t that interesting. The truth is, I really like writing, and this gives me a reason to. Feel free to read if you have nothing better to do, but I won’t be offended if you choose not to. I’m still flattered so many of you have read as much as you have already.

Now, where to resume? As I said, I’ve been home for a month, which is actually kind of a long time. I mentioned that I miss a lot of things from Ireland, and I do, but I am enjoying being home. My first weekend back I drove down to Iowa to see all my friends at Loras and my relatives in Dubuque, all of whom I missed immensely all semester. At home, I’ve gotten to see a handful of my friends (most of them are spending the summer away working or taking classes), spend time with my family, go to the cabin, and bartend a couple graduation parties.

I come with the bar and accept wine as payment.

Possibly the most exciting thing that’s happened in the last month is the beginning of my job. For those of you who don’t know, I’m currently employed as an IS intern at Securian Financial Group, Inc. in St. Paul as a program analyzer in the IS Investments division.  Unnecessarily long titles aside, I’m a tech geek that’s working on databases for a mutual insurance firm. More importantly, I really like it.

I work 6:45am until 3:30pm, and take the bus to and from St. Paul every day (which makes me miss the Ath Cliath double deckers), and so far I’ve done a handful of small projects like updating linked spreadsheets, fixing macros, and filling out LAN Batch Tracking job orders. Last week I was trained in Lotus Notes and its Domino Designer, so my next projects will involve the structural end of the databases, which is right up my alley. If you didn’t understand a word that I just said, and therefore have no idea why I like my job, you should know that there’s a Caribou Coffee in my building.

I'll never leave you.

That pretty much sums up everything that’s been going on in the last few weeks. I’ll keep updating as things keep happening. Just don’t sit around waiting at the computer all the time. It’s summer after all, go outside.

One response to “Return!

  1. when you first said that you might be getting that internship, im pretty sure the first thing i said to you that there was a caribou in the building. not oh i hope you get it lindsay. nope. caribou.

Leave a Reply

