They Say It’s Your Birthday

Yes, today is the day that most people aspire to spend passed out in a bar having ingested many more shots and drinks than anyone else thought possible: it’s my 21st birthday.

Yaaaaaaaay.

I had no such aspirations for today. I met my parents at their hotel and we walked to Temple Bar hoping to go to the Meetinghouse Square Saturday market for breakfast; however, the square is currently under construction and quite closed, which made getting breakfast a bit difficult. We instead went to Half Moon Cafe and had some really great crêpes and coffee.

After breakfast we walked around Grafton Street and Nassau Street looking for things to bring people back home, and were joined by Libby and Kelsey. We got quite a bit of shopping done, but were hard-pressed to find something for Alex. He had asked for a Celtic Football Club jersey, but we hadn’t found one in any store we had looked all week. Libby was very helpful finding different sporting goods stores, and we were eventually directed to a Celtic Football store in the Jervis shopping center on Henry Street, where we finally found the jersey.

Most elusive souvenir. Ever.

By now it was lunch time, and I went with Libby and Kelsey to meet up with Danielle, Mo, Anders, Rob, and Matt at Cactus Jack’s for my birthday lunch. It was a great little Mexican restaurant with a cantina that had fabulous mojitos and awesome food, and we had a lot of fun.

After lunch everyone went back home and I met back up with my parents, who were still shopping for people. We managed to find gifts for just about everyone on their list, plus a few things for them, so Mom was happy about that. We stopped back at their hotel so they could give me my birthday presents, which included a Minnesota Twins shirt (to represent home), a scarf (which Mom and I had incidentally been admiring earlier that day), and a really pretty necklace.

Plus it's Irish.

For tonight, I don’t have any big plans. I don’t want to go to a club because they’re so expensive, and I don’t want to be stupid and do the 21 shot tradition that everyone thinks is such a great idea. I want to sit with my friends and have a couple pints, and take the train home so we don’t have to pay for a cab.

And it’s my birthday, so that’s what we’re going to do.

We’re heading out in a little bit to the Dark Horse in Dublin to do all that, and hopefully my parents will join us for a drink or two as well. It’s been a pretty sweet birthday, so thanks to everyone who made it that way!

Leave a Reply

