Dirty Laundry

I’ve been here in Ireland now for over a week, so it should come to no surprise that I’ve had my first Irish laundry experience.

For me, doing laundry at Loras has always been one of my favorite things. This may sound a little odd unless you already know that I do laundry at my aunt’s house. I get to spend time with family and get a little while away from campus, which is actually really nice. Obviously I wasn’t expecting any of that here, but I’m basically already on vacation so it’s not like I need a break from campus.

I was a little nervous about the laundry thing here at first.
Would I have to find a laundromat? How far would I have to go? How much would this cost me?

Would I survive the trip?

Then I found out our housing units had laundry, so I calmed down a bit.

The problem with the laundry here is the actual machine. It’s a two-in-one washer/dryer combo, which as you may imagine is just really sucky at two things rather than being somewhat mediocre at one, like washers and dryers of Loras. It only holds about half a normal load and takes about two hours to wash and twice that to dry, most likely because it’s a washing machine that’s full of water, and “drying” apparently means whipping everything into tight balls of fabric that will create wrinkles so permanent, no iron will ever smooth them.  It’s also housed outside in our patio shed.

Would I survive the trip?

With three of us living here with condensed wardrobes it’s pretty much running constantly, though I’m sure there will come a day where we venture out to buy new socks or shirts because we haven’t done laundry in a week, and that amount of clothing will actually take a full 24 hours to clean.

On the upside, the dishwasher works fantastically.

2 responses to “Dirty Laundry

  1. Guess my laundry room is looking pretty good about now! Not to mention a ‘home cooked’ meal. Well sometimes home cooked. Thought of you yesterday while doing laundry thinking Linz will be calling for tomorrow. Miss you but sounds like all is well in Ireland.

  2. Hey Lindsay! Fun stuff, glad you’re keeping (and sharing) this online journal. We had one of these machines when we lived in Thailand. I resorted to doing much of our laundry in the tub and hanging to dry. Take care.

Leave a Reply

