Start the Plane!

It’s time we face facts.  In 24 hours I’ll be hovering roughly 30,000 feet in the air somewhere above the Atlantic.  When I come back down I’ll be in Ireland…or rather I’ll be in Paris and after another, much shorter flight, I’ll be in Ireland.

I am terrified.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m 110% ecstatic, and I can’t wait to be there. I think much of this has to do with the fact that I’m so tired of talking about going, I just want to go. My typical conversations for the last few weeks with neighbors, relatives, dental hygienists, and all manner of public servants has word for word been the following:

Conversational Partner: “So I hear you’re going to Ireland?”
Me: “Yes! I’m really excited.”
CP: “Are you excited?”
Me: “…yes.”
CP: “Where will you be in Ireland?”
Me: “Right near Dublin.”
CP: “What will you be studying there?”
Me: “Well, we’re taking two different courses from our advisor from Loras, and we take two from Irish professors that we choose when we get there.”
CP: “Now, when do you leave?”
Me: “The fifth.”
CP: “So soon! Well I just know you’re going to have an amazing time. Make sure to take lots of pictures/stay in touch/tour the Guinness factory!”

I’m not even annoyed at having to repeat this several times a day, I just want to start living what I’ve been talking about for so long. I guess that’s what’s so scary. All this planning, and now we’re actually living the dream…that and the fear of the unknown.

Also these.

Evil leprechauns aside, I’m planning on having a fantastic semester.

And yes, I plan on keeping you posted.

Leave a Reply

